Skip to main content

Where did you grow up?
Northampton, Massachusetts…born and raised until recently when we relocated to Arizona to be closer to our daughter and her family.

What are your hobbies (besides CrossFit)?
Golf, hiking, reading and especially babysitting for our granddaughter. Looking forward to traveling more in the future.

What is your occupation?
Recently retired (-:

How were you first introduced to CrossFit?
By my daughter, Erica Simmons. She somehow finally convinced me I could actually do Crossfit. Started at a box in Hadley, MA (PVCF which is short for Pioneer Valley Crossfit). Just recently celebrated my 2nd year of Crossfit.

What is your favorite WOD/movement?
Back Squat, deadlifts and rowing are my favorites.

What is your least favorite WOD/movement?
Overhead Squats and burpees, working to get better at both.

What CrossFit accomplishment are you most proud of?
Tough call here…front squats, handstands, maybe even the rope climb. The handstand/rope climb why would anyone at 55+ want to learn how? I still ask myself this, but I have learned them and I am working on getting my HSPU. Why Front Squats you ask, you all didn’t see me 2 years ago, serious mobility issues. I did lots of goblet squats and extra work after class to even be allowed to front squat during class.

What is your favorite song to WOD to?
Anything with a decent beat/rhythm. No one song stands out just please have music.

What would you like to accomplish next through CrossFit?
A strict pull-up is this year primary goal. I would also like to go sub 8 for a 2k row. After that, working on gymnastic skills.

Fill in the blank: I love…. I eat…. I will… I am…
I love… my family
I eat… work in progress right now, I’m trying Terra
I will… endeavor to be a better person and to trust the process
I am… grateful to the Blade family, thank you for welcoming me