Skip to main content

Where did you grow up?
I was born in El Salvador but moved to San Jose, California when I was six. I moved to AZ in 1994 and bounced back between ASU and the U of A, but finished my degree as a Wildcat. I settled in Phoenix after college with my husband.

What are your hobbies (besides CrossFit)?
I love football and am a huge SF 49ers fan. I’m really excited about this season.

What is your occupation?
I currently work on Warranty Strategy for Mechanical Aerospace components but, my whole career has been in finance and accounting.

How were you first introduced to CrossFit?
Six years ago my husband and I were eating at a Subway in Surprise and we saw a sign going up for Crossfit in one of the suites. We checked it out a week later and I was hooked. After I had my daughter I needed to find a place closer to work in 2014. I came to a class Frankie was coaching, and I have been at Blade since.

What is your favorite WOD/movement?
I love hang and power anything, basically I love the barbell!

What is your least favorite WOD/movement?
Cardio is hardio, but wall balls are my nemesis.  I don’t think I’ve gone once in 6 years without a ball to the face.

What CrossFit accomplishment are you most proud of?
The first time I was able to deadlift 200lb back in August of 2015, and finally understanding the importance of scaling during the Open Prep class in January.

What is your favorite song to WOD to?
I have pretty eclectic taste in music so I love any old school hip-hop and rap Coach Anthony plays but really miss Frankie’s Irish Pub Rock

What would you like to accomplish next through CrossFit?
I used to have this long list of things but now, I really just want to stay physically healthy so I can be an example to my kids. As a full-time working Mom it is a challenge to make it in every day. I feel that as long as I can continue to push myself to be here, stay active, and be a functioning Mom, I am accomplishing a great deal.

Fill in the blank: I love…. I eat…. I will… I am…
I love… my family and Blade Community
I eat… a lot of cake and drink a lot of beer
I will… continue to Crossfit and encourage my husband, kids, and friends to accomplish their goals
I am… a complete goofball but, a friend for life