Skip to main content

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in a small rural town in Cam Ranh, Vietnam.  It was so small that electricity didn’t make its way there and no running water!  We relied on propane lanterns to provide light for us at night.  Well water was drawn by hand using a small bucket with a string attached!  Food was cooked using wood or charcoal.  I left that simple life with my uncle (my mom’s brother) and a few of my siblings in 1990 and stayed in a refugee camp in the Philippines for 6 months.  Arizona sponsored our family and we arrived here in 1991.

What are your hobbies (besides CrossFit)?
Hiking, volleyball, racquetball (although I haven’t play for a long time), camping, or hanging out with friends and family.

What is your occupation?
Manager Project Engineer for Honeywell managing software projects.

How were you first introduced to CrossFit?
Andrew Baker talked to me about Crossfit Blade almost daily for 6 months and I finally gave in just so he would stop talking about it.  I went to try it out and I was hooked!

What is your favorite WOD/movement?
I would say thruster or any of the squat movements.

What is your least favorite WOD/movement?
My nemesis, the Assault bike!  I feel as if I’m about to die before seeing the calories increase!

What CrossFit accomplishment are you most proud of?
Probably bar muscle up and not dying on Fridays when I partner with my amazing and beautiful mini mighty Meghan!

What is your favorite song to WOD to
I don’t have a favorite – but any kind of music will do!

What would you like to accomplish next through CrossFit?
I would like to put the time in and learn how to do ring muscle ups and handstand walk!

Fill in the blank: I love…. I eat…. I will… I am..
I love…God and my family
I eat…mostly clean and will try just about anything
I will…always appreciate my childhood experience because it made me who I am today!
I am…grateful to be part of this amazing Blade family and all of my friends that I met from there!